The Death of Doubling

5 May

Today I learned a sad fact: starting next week, one of my favorite chain stores will discontinue all of their coupon-doubling policies in the Mid-Atlantic area, which includes my home region of Kentucky/Ohio/West Virginia. That’s right: Kroger is switching things up on us. Although they are introducing a “New Lower Prices” program in their stores, many customers will have to drastically re-think their couponing strategy now that doubling is going the way of the dinosaur.

Here’s the OFFICAL announcement from Kroger:

 

In an effort to provide you with the most value for your dollar, we are updating our coupon policy and implementing a New Lower Prices program. Effective May 12, 2013, we are discontinuing our practice of doubling (up to 50 cents) manufacturer coupons in the Mid-Atlantic region. We will continue to accept manufacturer coupons and other coupons at face value, including: digital coupons, e-coupons, Catalina coupons and printables. We will also be investing additional resources into lowering prices for our customers on everyday items. We understand that this is a significant change. We hope that you come and see our new low prices – as well as the many other ways to save — for yourself.

• Downloadable, clip-free coupons daily on www.kroger.com
• Special sales events such as Mega Event and Cart Busters
• Fuel savings program that offers up to $1 off per gallon at Kroger Fuel Centers
• 10¢ off per gallon gas savings opportunity at participating Shell stations
• Loyal Customer Mailings containing customized coupons.
• $4/$10 generic drug pricing (see Pharmacy for details)

 

This policy change honestly won’t affect my couponing strategy too much, but I know a lot of shoppers who count on this method for their savings. Let’s hope that Kroger’s “new & improved” pricing, deals and specials are all they’re being advertised to be, so that shoppers can continue  receiving great deals.

This announcement really does bum me out, as Kroger is one of my favorite places to coupon. However, with the current coupon craze that’s still lingering from the popularity Extreme Couponing, it’s probably that most stores will continue to change and tighten their policies. Just be sure to stay informed BEFORE you shop – it’s never fun to be devastated at the register when your strategy completely falls apart!

Thanks to Bonnie for the tip-off on this information!

3 Responses to “The Death of Doubling”

  1. Couponing in Reality May 7, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Some of the “new lower prices” are actually higher. I used to shop at Kroger exclusively, but now I go to Meijer – they still double and they have better promos (like BOGO chicken nuggets and coupon rewards). Our Kroger stopped coupon doubling March 1 and I only go there when I have high-dollar coupons.

    • savmo May 8, 2013 at 3:24 am #

      We don’t have a Meijer in my area, but I do often wish we had a few more chain grocery stores. We have Kroger, Walmart, and local grocery stores, some of which double and some don’t. I like my local Kroger a lot, but I’m not sure how I feel about the change in prices & policies!

      • Couponing in Reality August 23, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

        Well, I guess change can be a good thing; I notice now they do free products on Fridays, but not doubling definitely makes a difference in my weekly grocery bill!

Leave a Reply

